When I delete my iOS application push notification state remains When I delete my iOS application push notification state remains ios ios

When I delete my iOS application push notification state remains


Updated for iOS 7 and later from Apple's docs:

On iOS 7 and later, The first time a push-enabled app registers for push notifications, iOS asks the user if they wish to receive notifications for that app. Once the user has responded to this alert it is not presented again unless the device is restored or the app has been uninstalled for at least a day.

If you want to simulate a first-time run of your app, you can leave the app uninstalled for a day. You can achieve the latter without actually waiting a day by following these steps:

  1. Delete your app from the device.
  2. Turn the device off completely and turn it back on.
  3. Go to Settings > General > Date & Time and set the date ahead a day or more.
  4. Turn the device off completely again and turn it back on.

For iOS 5 and iOS6:

Reset the push notifications permissions alert by restoring the device from a backup (r. 11450187). Here are the steps to do this efficiently:

  1. Use the Xcode Organizer to install your app on the device. The key is to install the app for the first time without running it.
  2. Use iTunes to back up the device.
  3. Run the app. The push notifications permissions alert will be presented.
  4. When you want to reset the push notifications permissions alert, restore the device from the backup you created in the first step.

https://developer.apple.com/library/content/technotes/tn2265/_index.html


There is a workaround for this that involves setting the system time ahead by two days, rebooting the device, and then changing the system time back to the present. iOS is designed to only ask permission for push once a day per application.

Resetting the Push Notifications Permissions Alert on iOS The first time a push-enabled app registers for push notifications, iOS asks the user if they wish to receive notifications for that app. Once the user has responded to this alert it is not presented again unless the device is restored or the app has been uninstalled for at least a day.

If you want to simulate a first-time run of your app, you can leave the app uninstalled for a day. You can achieve the latter without actually waiting a day by setting the system clock forward a day or more, turning the device off completely, then turning the device back on.

http://developer.apple.com/library/ios/#technotes/tn2265/_index.html


I was in the same boat you were. What I found most helpful was to slightly change the bundle identifier.

Example:Your bundle identifier is com.company.app. If you need to test enabling push notifications change the identifier to com.company.app1. It will install as a new app and have new push notification permission settings.

Just make sure to change it back when you're done testing.


matomo